Limitless

Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

John Piper is quoted saying, “God is always doing 10,000 things in your life, and you may be aware of three of them.” I often find myself thinking those three things are the three that He will give me next. I am expecting that because I take delight in God and so then my top three requests will be fulfilled in no time. This, however, is the basis of the prosperity message. Which, to me, is known as Joel Osteen’s bread and butter. Now, I won’t get into Osteen because I am not fit to throw stones at him because I am not blameless either. But, this message of prosperity is not free from criticism. It is the message that I, as a privileged American in 2015, have come to expect to be reality. Unfortunately, it has led me to unrealistic expectations and putting a limit on a God who is limitless. This is true in my life. I know, KNOW, that my God knows no boundaries and yet I live like He does. Why am I complaining about not getting what I want when I was not there when God created the heavens and the earth? (Job 38:4) What do I know about anything? I try to solve the entire puzzle with just one piece. That is a common problem for a lot of us, I think.

The funny thing is, sometimes He does give me what I want. I don’t know if I’ve been particularly good or close to Him and He rewards me like a parent rewards a well-behaving child or if He sees me longing for answers I don’t feel I have control over. It is random and unexpected, but many times I ask for it. I ask for help and He gives it. I long to see a friend and He makes us cross paths. It is the most amazing little gift to feel Him listening when so often I feel like I’m just talking to the sky. I know one day when I stand before the throne in terror, awe and complete adoration I won’t really care about these petty things. The most brilliant thing on earth will pale in His comparison. And in the pits of trial and temptation to quit, I find a breath that will allow me to press on towards His peace and freedom. I know that one day this will all be over. All the waiting, confusion, angst and nervousness will be vaporized in the presence of my Creator.

Leave a Reply

