Why I Am Just As Bad As Josh Duggar 

I feel bad. I feel bad for the Duggar family. I feel bad for the victims. Most of all, I feel bad for society in general.

Josh Duggar made a mistake several times. He gave into temptation several times. He fell prey to the Enemy several times. He hurt and scarred people several times.

But, you know what? So have I. No, my sins aren’t the same sin. But, I have victims too. I have gossiped and judged. Lusted and envied. I have been repeatedly separated from God as Mr. Duggar has. Sin means separation from God. Molestation and gossiping are both sins. The same thing. Punishable by separation from God forever. The difference is found in consequences. Lying probably doesn’t have as big of consequences as molestation. But, both can be covered by the blood of Christ if one chooses to follow Jesus.

I think this concept of one sin being worse than the other is a figment of the human imagination. When we sin we can’t be more or less separated from God. That philosophically doesn’t make sense.

This is why I feel bad for society. We have made this concept up to feel better about ourselves. Everyone lies, but not everyone murders. So, the liars can say, “Well at least I didn’t murder. I’m not as bad as that guy.” C’mon guys. Does that only sound ridiculous because I’m a Christian?

We can go back to John 8 where the lesson of hypocrisy is found. Funny thing about the Bible is that it still applies to our lives today. If you’re without sin, cast the first stone on Josh Duggar. Unfortunately, (excuse my sass) many people don’t desire to comprehend the basic lesson that Jesus is teaching. They prefer to cast the first stone and live in misunderstanding and pride. This is why I feel bad for society.

Are we so cruel that we would choose to beat down someone who is already punished by living with this sin, remorse, and disappointment forever? Or to remind the victims every day of the trauma they have experienced? Do we not already have enough to be concerned about in our own lives to keep us busy? My sins alone lend me no time to worry about Mr. Duggar’s sins.

Would this be different if Mr. Duggar wasn’t a Christian? I think in some ways, yes. Calling all Christians hypocrites or bigots is the same as calling all Muslims terrorists. It is uneducated and extremely untrue. Even though he and his family handled it responsibly and in probably the best possible way they could have, it’s still not good enough for the judgment throne of society.

Luckily for all of us who have ever made a mistake, cussed, rolled our eyes, cheated, stole, lied, kicked a dog, or sped on the highway, society doesn’t have any say in our eternity. God does. I think Josh Duggar and God have had a lot of discussion about this sin.

So, People Magazine, E! News, TMZ, CNN, U.S. Weekly, Fox News, politicians, celebrities, and all of humanity. Lay off. Report the facts. That’s fine. But, watch what you say unless you are perfect.

Just a quick thought to the Christians… Did the Bible not warn that it’s hard to follow Jesus? Yes, we face hypocrisy while being told WE are the hypocrites. But, we were warned when we chose Jesus. It’s part of it. Don’t forget.

Know that I don’t understand or know what it is like to be victim of the actions of this sin. However, I am so aware that this is something nobody should ever have to experience. How my heart goes out to those girls and their families! I am thankful that victim or perpetrator, God can make everyone new and pure! I pray that this is the case in their lives. Maybe through this horrible experience, God will change lives. I don’t doubt he can.

Lord, thank you for using this family as warriors for your name. Continue to use them for your glory through this hard time. Thank you for the obedience of Josh’s family to your will by taking the appropriate steps when Josh confessed. Thank you for the healing that only you can provide. Please fill the wounds and scars with your comfort. I know you have a hand in this country, God. Please let those in dark see your light. Let the pride, judgment, and lust be destroyed by your love. Open the eyes of our world and humble our hearts. Knock down the walls of pride in this country! May all involved be drawn closer to you. 


Leave a Reply

